Skip to content

The BIG Reason

Music, opinions, and portfolio of Mark Eagleton, musician and web developer in Northern CA.

ALL Live in Studio A Cover
I hate having audio in my library without album art, so I made this from a period KDVS turntable head sticker.

ALL - Live in Studio A ~1989

Lossless audio of ALL performing Live in Studio A, circa 1989. This audio was recorded onto cassette tape from a KDVS 90.3 FM broadcast.

Another salvaged recording from the 80s, this was my first exposure to the band ALL and the Descendents. I’m not certain of the specific date of this performance, but it was recorded between late 1988 and mid 1989. Most of the songs are from Allroy’s Revenge and earlier.

I listened to this recording quite a bit and longed for more, but was very disappointed by the band’s studio sound. Luckily they released Trailblazer a year or so afterwards, which contained enough of the songs I was familiar with to suck me in, and raw live performances of new songs to fall in love with. I suppose you could think of this recording as a demo of Trailblazer.

Track listing:

  1. Gnutheme
  2. Check One
  3. Bubblegum
  4. Fool
  5. Frog
  6. She’s My Ex
  7. I Wanna Ba A Bear (Descendents cover)
  8. Copping Z
  9. Sex In The Way
  10. Myage (Descendents cover)
  11. Cyclops
  12. Postage
  13. Box
  14. Carnage
  15. Mary
  16. Scary Sad
  17. I’m Not A Looser (Descendents cover, partial recording—tape ran out!)

KDVS is still a thriving independent radio station and Live in Studio A has been going strong since 1987. I urge you to listen every week and support independent music like this. You never know when another Pavement will make their debut.